Some quick ground rules

Reject a divisive man after the first and second admonition, knowing that such a person is warped and sinning, being self-condemned.  [Titus 3:10-11]*

I was recently taken to task by someone over my blogs because I do not wish to engage in debates over the content of my blogs.  The person who wrote these comments is not a Christian.

The inconsistency in this person’s statements was evident when she stated that she admired me–but considered me to be a plague on humanity and that she hated me.  The readers can sort the logic in that one out–if there is any.

The final response from this person, which I deleted, took me to task because I had informed her that I would not publish future comments from her since she had nothing of merit to offer the discussion at hand.

So I am now laying down some ground rules for comments.

First off, it needs to be understood that this is a theological blog, so my postings are going to be informed from the following theological perspectives:

1:  The Bible, as contained in the canonical books recognized by Protestant Christians, as given in the original autographa, are to be regarded as generally reliable in matters of history.

2:  These records attest to the essential historicity of Jesus of Nazareth.

3:  These records also attest to His ability to perform miraculous works, His claims to be fully God incarnate–the Divine Author of Scripture, and His testimony that the Old Testament Scriptures are to be regarded as the written word of God and without error.

4:  These records also attest that those designated as Apostles by Jesus of Nazareth or as Apostles by the Apostles themselves were authorized by Jesus to write Scripture.

5:  If we are going to call ourselves followers of Christ, then we are obligated by that definition to accept and follow His view of the Old and New Testaments as being fully inspired by God, without error in all matters which they affirm, and therefore uniquely authoritative as the written word of God.

6:  Because the autographa as penned in the Old Testament, and by the Apostles and their delegates are fully inspired by God, they are without error in all that they affirm and are to be regarded as authoritative in all which they affirm.

7:  To the extent which the texts we have today reflect the original readings [which according to most textual authorities such as Metzger, Hodges, and Robinson represents a text which can be regarded as 99.997% certain], we can regard the transmitted text as also being inspired and inerrant.

8:  To the extent that translations accurately reflect the intents and purposes of the words, grammar, and syntax of the autographa, those translations can be regarded as inspired, inerrant, and authoritative.

If someone wishes to dispute what I have written in my blog, any response sent to me will be evaluated as to whether or not it actually presents any argument I deem to be meritorious.  If the arguments appear to me to have merit, AND they are expressed in a civil manner without use of invective or ad hominem attack, I may post them with a response, if said arguments actually require a clarification or amplification of my position.  Arguments which appear to be specious or couched in sophistry will not be posted.  Arguments which appear to be based in solipsism or relativism will not be posted.  The decision as to whether or not the argument appears to have merit will be at MY discretion.  This is, after all, MY blog so it is MY decision.

That said, if someone wishes to persist in sending me responses which I do not believe to have merit and/or contain obscene, vulgar, and/or insulting language, I reserve the right to block that person’s access to my blog.  This is, in a sense, my territory, so I have the right to determine who has access to that territory and under what conditions.  Guests with manners would never consider insulting a host in his own home and being allowed to stay, so guests should not presume that I have to allow them to insult me with impunity in this domain.

So if a reader wishes to dispute what I have said, and does not wish to respond according to the ground rules, that reader can always start their own blog and express their feelings and biases there.  I do not owe you a forum to argue or debate.

*Unless otherwise noted, all Scriptures are from the New King James Version. Copyright ©1982 by Thomas Nelson, Inc. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

About davestheology

I found a book that was kind of worn, But to my surprise, not a page was torn; It had a title, that I could not read, "Red Letter Edition" was all I could see.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Some quick ground rules

  1. As Christians, we should have ground rules. We are not to argue Scripture. Nonbelievers can’t understand because their eyes have been blinded as they have chosen to believe a lie. Don’t cast your pearls before the swine. God bless!

Leave a Reply

